Text Size

  • Increase Text Size
  • Decrease Text Size
  • Normal Text Size

Current Size: 100%

Akshay Urja Diwas 2020 Celebrated with Online Inter-School Poster Making Contest

Chandigarh, 20th August, 2020: CREST (Chandigarh Renewable Energy and Science & Technology Promotion Society), Chandigarh Administration in collaboration with               Yuvsatta-an NGO organized ‘Akshay Urja Diwas’ Celebrations with an online Inter-School Poster Making Contest. In which over 400 students from 45 prominent Government and private schools of the city participated. Participating students through their colourful posters highlighted ‘Solar-City Chandigarh’ with slogans of ‘Solar energy, the smart way to power your home’, ‘Go Solar-Save Polar’, ‘Solar is the energy for future’, ‘Solar Panels: Put it where the Sun ‘does’ shine’, ‘Solar power – The sunny side of life’ etc.

Appreciating the efforts of young ones Sh.Debendra Dalai, Chief Executive Officer (CEO), CREST and Director, Department of Environment, Chandigarh Administration said that Chandigarh city was envisaged as model solar city back in 2008. The people of Chandigarh are educated and environmentally conscious, once they were apprised of the economical savings, their acceptability was much higher. Now he is expecting greater response of people installing solar systems under Renewable Energy Service Company Model (RESCO) model.  In which the Solar plant will be installed free by a private company for 15 years and after that the house owner will be given the power plant.He added that today, on 20th August-Akshay Urja Diwas, let us revisit the basics of renewable energy and dwell on its importance.

The winners of the Online Inter-School Contest were presented with mementos and merit certificates by Sh.Debendra Dalai, CEO of CREST, at a simple ceremony at Paryavaran Bhawan, wherein arrangements were also made for winning students for social distancing norms and wearing of compulsory face-masks.

The list of winners is as under;

Class I to V (Top Five): Arnav, Class V, CL Aggarwal DAV Model School, Asad Khan, IIA, AKSIPS 41 Smart School, Evyan Arora, Class 2E, Delhi Public School, Maan Singh, Class-2 Pansy, RIMT World School, Ojasvi Aggarwal, Class V, Bhavan Vidyalaya Jr., Chandigarh.

Class VI to VIII (Top Five):  Abhishek, Class VII, New Public School, Devanshi Jindal, Class VI, Delhi Public School , Lakshay Chugh, Class VIII, Bhavan Vidyalaya 27, Sneha, Class 8B, GGMSSS 18C, Vanshita, Class VIA, AKSIPS 41 Smart School, Chandigarh

Class IX to XII (Top Five): Gursimran Singh, Class XII B, GMSSS 37B, Komalpreet Kaur, Class XI, St. Joseph's Sr. Sec. School, Kushleen Kaur, Class X, AKSIPS 41 Smart School, Sanskriti Aggarwal, Class X, SOREM, Srishti Saini, Class 11, Carmel Convent School, Chandigarh.

Winner Teachers (Top Three):  ManjuJassal, Government High School, Sector 30A, Meenakshi Sharma, Manav Rachna International School, Monika Grover, Govt. Model High School, Sector 38W, Chandigarh.