Text Size

  • Increase Text Size
  • Decrease Text Size
  • Normal Text Size

Current Size: 100%

Le Corbusier Day celebrated by Chandigarh College of Architecture

Le Corbusier Day celebrated by Chandigarh College of Architecture


Chandigarh, 4th October 2019: Chandigarh College of Architecture celebrated Le Corbusier Day on today by holding its annual convocation ceremony with the Le Corbusier Memorial Lecture by eminent art historian Prof. B.N.Goswamy. Shri Manoj Parida, IAS, Adviser to Administrator, Chandigarh Administration, graced the occasion as the Chief Guest.

On this occasion, Prof. B.N.Goswamy, delivered a lecture which drew attention to works wherein artists set out to test their own limits and to do even familiar things differently.

The lecture was followed by the convocation and prize distribution ceremony. Ms.Ravleen Kaur received the government gold medal for the year 2014-2019, the Le Corbusier gold medal award for the best all rounder 2014-2019, the Sanjiv Bhandari Scholarship, for securing the highest marks in the first eight semesters and the Anita Sharma Memorial Award for securing the highest marks in all 10 semesters; Ms. Insia Hasnain received the government silver medal and the Sarita Chadha Memorial Award for securing the second highest marks in the first eight semesters.

The Pierre Jeanneret gold medal for the Best Thesis 2018-2019 was given to Mr. Chaitanya Rajan Mohindra and The Kailash Sodhi Scholarship for the best thesis project on Group Housing/ Mass Housing/ Low Cost Housing was given to Ms. Saumya Saishree.

Apart from the graduating batch, Ms. Rupan of 3rd year received the Principal Prabhawalkar Memorial Award, Mr Jeevan Jyot received The H S Kohli Memorial Award for securing highest marks in the B.B.S degree and a scholarship initiated from 2019 shared with Ms. Tamanna Brar titled K.I.A.- Beyond Tomorrow awarded to the student who has secured the highest marks in 7th semester practical training.

Several other scholastic and co-curricular awards were also awarded on the occasion.

The celebration ended with an address by the Chief Guest, worthy Adviser Shri Manoj Parida who congratulated the young achievers and encouraged the students to continue the hard work.

Shri Dheeraj Sanghi, Director PEC, Shri Sachin Rana, IAS, Special Secretary Technical Education, Chandigarh Administration were also present on this occasion.