Text Size

  • Increase Text Size
  • Decrease Text Size
  • Normal Text Size

Current Size: 100%

Chief Electoral Officer holds meeting regarding Implementation of Electors Verification Program (EVP) under SVEEP PLAN


Chief Electoral Officer holds meeting regarding Implementation of Electors Verification Program (EVP) under SVEEP PLAN


 28 August 2019. Chandigarh : A meeting was held under the chairmanship of Sh. Ajoy Kumar Sinha, Chief Electoral Officer- cum- Finance Secretary, Chandigarh, today with  the officials of Department of Education, Department of Technical Education, Punjab University, Punjab Engineering College and all the Colleges of Chandigarh regarding the Implementation of Electors Verification Program (EVP) under SVEEP plan.

It was emphasized that the Electors Verification Program (EVP) will be launched from 1st September, 2019 to 30 September, 2019. This Programme (EVP) will be run to encourage citizens to come forward to authenticate existing elector details by giving a copy of any of the mentioned documents like Indian Passport, Driving License, Aadhar, Ration Card or any other document approved by the Commission. The citizens can also verify their electoral roll details through Voter Helpline mobile app, NVSP portal, by visiting Common Service Center or by submitting a hard copy of forms through BLO’s .

The Chief Electoral Officer has directed the officials of the concerned departments and from college representatives to help in sensitization, motivation and mobilization of faculty members, students and their family members to participate in EVP. He further directed all the campus ambassadors to supervise their teams periodically and encourage facilitating the students about the EVP programme.

Sh Ajoy Kumar Sinha also requested active involvement of Electoral Literacy Clubs, NSS and NCC volunteers during the campaign period. At the end of this exercise all the head of the institution will submit a Certificate that all students who are registered voters have verified their electoral details & who have not enrolled as voters have applied for the registration as voters during Special Summary Revision 2020.  

Present among other officers were Sh. Mandip Singh Brar, IAS, Additional Chief Electoral Officer cum Deputy Commissioner, Sh. Saurabh Mishra, IAS, SDM (S), Sh. Sudhanshu Gautam, HCS, SDM (E), Sh. Jagjit Singh, PCS, Joint Chief Electoral Officer,Sh. Rubinderjit Singh Brar, PCS, Director School Education.